Only Gorgeous Weddings

Stalking the Prettiest of Pretties

DIY Details

Maybe it’s the recession, maybe it’s my heightened interest in crafts lately or maybe it’s living with a man who does not share my interest in spending money on ‘clutter’, but I’ve started looking at pretty things and going ‘I could make it myself.’ So, I’ve started looking for ways you could make pretty details yourself. Not only could you save money, but you could also ensure that your day is unique.DIY Details

First up is the flowers. Now you may not feel comfortable doing all the flowers yourself, but you might want to have a go at some of the smaller details. Or if you have any talented family members, why not get them to do them as your present? Similarly, if you want a homemade wedding cake, but don’t have the skills to do it yourself, could you trust someone else to do it?
Invites are under major consideration with me. I can’t see why I wouldn’t make them, but I’m not sure if they would work out that much cheaper. I haven’t checked prices for invites yet though, so watch this space. If you do want to go down the homemade stationery route some websites you might like are http://www.thegraphicsfairy.com and http://www.dafont.com. One thing I really love about creating my own stationery is that it means I can co-ordinate everything. It appeals to the psycho in me.
And that stationery includes labels for bottles of home-made elderflower champagne and other hedgerow drinks. This is an idea that I am currently obsessed with. Signature cocktails are big news at the moment, why not take it one step further and make yours with your home-made alcohol? This is only really a money-saving trick if you already have the equipment. If you do want to do this River Cottage have some recipes.
I love birdcage veils and there are quite a few tutorials out there for making them. Made by Mary Ann seems to be the most quoted one.
Finally, I love, love, LOVE these ring bowls and I cannot see why nobody else has made them yet, but I can’t find any handmade versions. I don’t think it would be too difficult. If you’ve found any, please let me know.

I’m sure there are many other DIY details that I haven’t even thought of – have you?

Leave a Reply

