Only Gorgeous Weddings

Stalking the Prettiest of Pretties

Glasses: to Wear or Not to Wear

Should I wear my glasses on my wedding day? As someone who has worn glasses pretty much every day since I was 14, this is a topic close to my heart.

Allegro Photography

It started off innocently enough, I was getting headaches at school and was taken to the opticians. I was told that I was short sighted and needed glasses for the blackboard and for watching tv. I should have known from my sisters (2 of whom needed glasses since their early teens) that soon they would become a permanent fixture to my face.

And they are. I put them on first thing in the morning and take them off last thing at night. I need them for pretty much everything, including typing on my laptop or work pc. (Unless I touch-type, but I can’t see any mistakes!) I hate them though. I have a fairly small face, so most pairs overpower me. They leave slightly-sweaty pink blotches on my nose from where they rest. They get smudged and scratched because I don’t take care of them and worst of all, they hide my eyes. The one feature of mine that I quite like. Oh, and if I go out, drunk people always want to have a go at wearing them. I will, without a doubt, be wearing contacts on my wedding day. Even though they dry my eyes out after a few hours, which is why I don’t wear them every day. I’ll stash a spare pair in our suite along with some solution to moisten my eyeballs. I would rather have uncomfortable eyes with not-quite-perfect vision than wear glasses on my wedding day. And that, my friends, is incredibly vain.

But I know not everyone feels the same. Many other people don’t feel like they are ‘them’ without their glasses. And that’s fantastic, they shouldn’t feel any different on their wedding day. I believe that you want to be the best version of yourself on your wedding day and if that includes your best pair of specks then so be it.  Don’t let the status quo dictate how you look on your wedding day (or any other day for that matter.)

James Crockford

If you are wearing your glasses then there are a few things to consider. If you are going to get a new pair for it, buy them at least a month in advance and try them on with your veil, if you’re wearing one. Wear them to any hair or make up trials you may have to make sure they suit the styles as well. On the day, your photographer should make any adjustments needed and for goodness sake, don’t let your guest throw rice – it’ll scratch them to bits!

If you are going down the contacts route make sure your eye make-up is suitable for sensitive eyes and do not use eye brighteners are they are not formulated for contacts.

 

Whichever way you go, make sure to remain ‘you’ and recognisable to the man standing at the end of the aisle  – I mean the groom, not the priest!!

Leave a Reply

